The Circle of Excellence Award — a recognized symbol of quality — is presented annually by the Distribution Business Management Association (DBM) to leading companies in various industries. Recipients embody the highest standards of quality, a commitment to environmental stewardship, and set the benchmark for all other businesses. The award recognizes the important attributes of consistency, integrity, responsibility, commitment, leadership, and excellence.

The awarded recipient is chosen from an international panel of judges from the top universities and associations. Recipients of the Circle of Excellence Award include the following:

  • 2017
  • IBM Corporation
    for its profound commitment to environment and social responsibility through energy, conservation, recycling, reuse and product stewardship.
  • 2016
  • Duke Energy
    for its strong commitment to environmental stewardship and social advocacy through corporate governance, environmental policy, climate strategy, human capital development and labor practices.
  • 2015
  • Starbucks Coffee Company
    for the sustainable supply chain management strategies, continued company commitment to growth through innovation and solutions to affect positive change in the communities it serves through social advocacy programs.
  • 2007
  • Staples, Inc.
  • 2006
  • Circuit City
  • 2005
  • CVS
  • 2004
  • Dell
  • 2003
  • KRAFT Foods
  • 2002
  • Lockheed Martin
  • 2001
  • Coors Brewing Company
  • 2000
  • Roadway Express, Inc.
  • 1999
  • Sears, Roebuck and Co.
  • 1998
  • UPS
  • 1997
  • Mercedes Benz

Nominations for COE Award

To nominate your company or a company that you believe meets the Circle of Excellence Award Criteria, or you would like more information about the DBM Circle of Excellence Award, contact us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or call us at (717) 295-0033 to speak with Amy Thorn, Executive Director.